Getting married.

I have been asked about this several time, most often than not, the inquirer refers to the legal process for an Indonesian to marry an Icelander, not my personal exciting adventure of being a bridezilla 🙂

As a disclaimer, I would like to point out that this post is NOT in any way a definite and absolute method for Indonesians to marry Icelanders, this is just what I did when I got married.

My husband and I got married in Indonesia, in June 2008. So please understand that I can’t provide all the exact details on our marriage, because I simply can’t remember all of them.

My parents wanted us to marry through Kantor Urusan Agama (KUA), and we did. We went to a KUA in South Jakarta, asked them for all the requirements and documentation needed and we filled them. All I can remember that both my husband and I had to provide the followings:

  • His passport and my Kartu Tanda Penduduk (KTP) for identification.
  • Official letter of never been married before. I got mine from the local council and my husband got his from Registers Iceland.
  • Photos of us.

Then we filled out several forms, and that was it. Oh, we also had a session with the officials of KUA to learn about what marriage is supposed to be, some kind of pep talk on how married couples need to respect each other and etc. 🙂

We got married at a function hall in South Jakarta, and the penghulu (an official from KUA authorised to marry us) was there as well with all his papers and certificates for us to sign on. After the ijab kabul (our version of wedding vows exchange), we were pronounced married, and we received our marriage certificates straight away.

After the wedding, honeymoon, and hundreds of family gatherings that followed, my husband and I prepared for our departure to Iceland. My husband’s preparation for us moving to Iceland was only packing and soaking up as much sun as he could. For me, I had to:

  • Complete all paperwork needed for me to apply for permanent residency in Iceland. The list can be found here. I had to collect all the documents and translated them to English.
  • Since the process of applying for permanent residency could take up to 90 days, I decided to apply for a short-stay visa at the Danish Embassy.

Once my visa was granted, we traveled to Iceland. Once we arrived, we registered ourselves as a married couple at Registers Iceland, then I submitted my application for residential permit, and I got my residence card couples of months after that.

Now we got the boring stuffs out of the way, is anybody interested to read my epic quest in catching a Viking? Anyone? 🙂

8 comments

  1. I'd Rather Be In Iceland · June 19, 2012

    Yes! 🙂

    • indonesiaislandia · June 19, 2012

      Hahaha, thanks! I will divulge all the gory details soon, hehehe 🙂

  2. Ayoe · July 23, 2012

    Hi, Mba, maksudnya our marriage certificates itu buku nikah? apakah dilegalkan ke dept. agama dan deplu sebelum apply PR. Mba, izin konsultasi bolehkah? aku rencananya juga akan mengikuti jejakmu, tapi masih ada beberapa yang bikin aku bingung. Thanks.

    • indonesiaislandia · July 23, 2012

      Hai, iyah, yang aku maksud buku nikah itu. Waktu aku daftar izin tinggal disana, aku cuma tunjukin buku nikah ku sama formulir dan dokumen2 lainnya, dan aku dapat izin tinggal deh 🙂

  3. M. Via · October 10, 2013

    How does it feel like to live in Iceland? I mean, there are lots of different thing you must have encountered in Iceland and which is a far cry from Indonesia. Have you ever watched sigur ros or maybe bjork walking down the street and smiling at you or learned the language laboriously (to be honest, I put much effort just to sing a song in Icelandic 😥 ) because apparently Iceland’s beautifully remarkable. And, it’s one of my wishlist destination…

  4. nori1996 · September 10, 2014

    kak.. saya Novianti Nory. saya tertarik sekali untuk berkuliah disana. cuman saya masih bingung untuk memilih universitas yang ada jurusan yg saya inginkan. lalu saya juga masih belum tau berapa biaya hidup disana. mohon pencerahannya kak. saya dari Surabaya

Leave a Reply

