A place to live.

Recent development on Indonesian immigration law enforced towards foreign spouses got me thinking, about a place to call home.

After having lived in Iceland for more than 2.5 years, undoubtedly I consider the country as my home (well, my second home after Jakarta, Indonesia). One of the many considerations on why my husband and I decided to live here was, “it makes more sense to do so.”

Immigration laws in Iceland is more lenient towards the spouses of Icelanders compared to Indonesian’s. I was granted temporary residency once I arrived in the country, which needs to be renewed every year for the first three years of my stay. Afterwards, I can apply for permanent residency which only needs to renewed every five years.

The residential permit allows me to work for full time, and entitles me to full health benefits. If I have any working experiences in Iceland, should I ever get unemployed in the future, I will be entitled to unemployment benefits.

The immigration law in Indonesia is pale beyond comparison with Iceland’s. At least, it was like that, until now. The new regulations passed by the Indonesian House of Representatives show how the immigration laws are constantly being reviewed and developed in order to cater the needs of Indonesian people and its residents. Though it’s still a long way for Indonesia to be able to come to the same point as Iceland, but at least now there is hope towards that direction.

I have never really given a good thought about where I would like to live the rest of my life. Because I always think it’s still way to early to pick a place to grow old in. But as our little family is getting another member, I can’t help but thinking where do I want to raise our child.

Despite being madly in love with Iceland, there is always a part of me that wants to share bits of my childhood and my first home to our children. I want them to know and experience the amazing place where I grew up, the beautiful people, the rich culture, the unbearable hot and humid weather, and all those lovely memories that cannot be obtained just by few holiday trips every year to Indonesia.

But on the other hand, raising a child in Iceland is so appealing, where it’s so safe that parents would normally leave their babies in their stroller outside shops orย coffee-housesย while they’re running their errands, where I could leave my car unlocked while parked anywhere, where I don’t fear for my life when walking or driving in the middle of the night (I mean, ever heard of Kapak Merah in Jakarta? /shudder).

There are only few weeks to go until the new little member of our family comes into our life, and I still have no idea where I want to raise our child.

12 comments

  1. Debby · April 20, 2011

    Love this website! great job Dyah..:-)

  2. Titi · June 18, 2012

    Hi, nice to meet you ๐Ÿ™‚ I am Indonesian woman who is in process to marry Icelandic man. I am on doing preparing all of documents. Later on we plan to live in Iceland. I hope you don’t mind to share me the story about your marriage process since its hard to get the story about Indonesian married Icelandic. Thank you for your share. I highly appreciate it.

  3. Titi · June 20, 2012

    Hi, thank you for the post. I also like your post about having baby there:) Speaking of, since Iceland embassy in Indonesia represented by Denmark embassy also there’s only honorary consulate of Indonesia in Iceland which is represented by Icelandic, do you find any difficulties about this? Just need to know. Sorry if I am a little bit fussy and many thanks for your share.

    • indonesiaislandia · June 20, 2012

      No problem, I’m glad that my posts can help ๐Ÿ™‚

      So far, I have experienced zero difficulties in regards to any consular matters… The Danish Embassy in Jakarta has always been most helpful, and while I’m in Iceland I only liaise with KBRI Oslo in Norway, because they are the governmental representatives for Indonesian citizens who reside both in Norway and Iceland. Here is the link to their site:

      http://indonesia-oslo.no/

  4. Titi · June 20, 2012

    Thank you so much for your info. I hope we could meet in Iceland someday ๐Ÿ™‚ Are there Indonesian wife community there?

    • indonesiaislandia · June 20, 2012

      Yes, we’re quite a few here… We’ve even got “arisan” and all ๐Ÿ™‚

      Looking forward to meeting you as well ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Titi · July 13, 2012

        Thank you. I hardly can’t wait to be there ๐Ÿ™‚ But I still have a lot to do to make this true :). Speaking of, just share, I have not very nice experience about sending package from Indonesia to Iceland. The big post office near my place in Depok can’t send it cause they said they never go there to send something (what ashamed ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) Then I go to DHL who charge me three times more expensive than the things I want to send it…I am so disappointed and feel shy to my fiancee…He asked me not to send it then. Can you share with me how your family in Indonesia send something for you in Iceland? Thank you again ๐Ÿ™‚

      • indonesiaislandia · July 13, 2012

        Hiya, I actually managed to send a care package from Indonesia to Iceland last year. It was 20kg, and it costs around IDR 1,000,000 to send it all the way to Iceland, using the sea-mail service provided by PT Pos Indonesia. The parcel arrived safe and sound after about 2 months (though the staff at the post office said it could take up to 3 months for it to arrive, so.. yay, lucky me :D). I think I went to their office that’s located in Fatmawati.

        Do check out their website, http://www.posindonesia.co.id, for exact quotation on delivery cost.

        Btw, I am in Jakarta at the moment, if you fancy meeting up for coffee or something ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Titi · July 15, 2012

    Hi, sorry for just reply. That’s a good idea. So, when and where the best place to meet for you? Please let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

    • indonesiaislandia · July 15, 2012

      How about I’ll email you my phone number, then we can talk more? Is it okay to send the message on the email address you put up here?

Leave a Reply

